Way to flag or mark rows while datalogging in BE

BinaryEditor and EEC Analyzer are both packed with awesome features, but if you can think of another cool feature to aide in EEC Tuning or some improvement to an existing feature, cough it up here.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, Jon 94GT, 2Shaker, 86GT

Post Reply
User avatar
Ryno8705
Gear Head
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:10 am
Location: Saint Charles, MO

Way to flag or mark rows while datalogging in BE

Post by Ryno8705 » Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:44 pm

I don't know how many other people would use a feature like but I think having a manual means, like holding the space bar while datalogging, to flag certain data lines would be nice. Just something where I can have a passenger or myself hold down the space bar for say 10 seconds and have all the datalogged lines during the 10 seconds be distinguishable from other lines. Kind of like the OL/CL flag.

I thought during troubleshooting my low load/low RPM pinging issue and I would like to be able to go back to the datalog and know exactly where I was pinging. If I could hold down the space bar while I hear any pinging, it would be easier to troubleshoot what I need to correct.

Just an idea. I'm sure it could be used during many other tests, especially if a passenger is working the computer and the driver can focus on the road. I think the space bar would be easy to hit without taking your eyes off the road for more than a second just to find the key.
1994 Mustang GT Convertible. - YMR# 8045
306, E303, Moates QH & BE/EA, T4M0/CBAZA, LC-1, SVO Intake, MAC headers/catback, BBK H, MM CC plates+springs+SFCs+LCAs, K&N, KYB shocks+struts+quads, MGW shifter, 95 Cobra R rims, tires:275 back-245 front, 3.55 gears, FRPP Alum DS, Centerforce DF.

User avatar
cgrey8
Administrator
Posts: 10536
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Acworth, Ga (Metro Atlanta)
Contact:

Re: Manual means to flag data lines while datalogging

Post by cgrey8 » Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:03 pm

BE already has this. Hit the CTRL button and BE will set the value in the Marker column to 1. Hit CTRL again, and the value will return to 0. Hit CTRL again and the Marker column values will be set to 2. Hit it again, and they return to 0. This makes it easy to find specific locations in the datalog when you go back to look at the logs. The fact that each incident of this increments the value allows you to sort the Marker column and get ALL rows that you marked as interest will sort together.
...Always Somethin'

89 Ranger Supercab, 331 w/GT40p heads, ported Explorer lower, Crane Powermax 2020 cam, 1.6RRs, FMS Explorer (GT40p) headers, Slot Style MAF, aftermarket T5 'Z-Spec', 8.8" rear w/3.27s, Powertrax Locker, Innovate LC-1, GUFB, Moates QuarterHorse tuned using BE&EA

Member V8-Ranger.com

User avatar
Ryno8705
Gear Head
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:10 am
Location: Saint Charles, MO

Re: Manual means to flag data lines while datalogging

Post by Ryno8705 » Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:26 pm

Alright, well, darn... I thought I would have remembered that from reading the help files, but news to me I can't read. Haha.. Thanks for the info, this thread can be closed.
1994 Mustang GT Convertible. - YMR# 8045
306, E303, Moates QH & BE/EA, T4M0/CBAZA, LC-1, SVO Intake, MAC headers/catback, BBK H, MM CC plates+springs+SFCs+LCAs, K&N, KYB shocks+struts+quads, MGW shifter, 95 Cobra R rims, tires:275 back-245 front, 3.55 gears, FRPP Alum DS, Centerforce DF.

MutStang91
Gear Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:22 pm

Re: Way to flag or mark rows while datalogging in BE

Post by MutStang91 » Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:07 am

I would love to add this feature to my setup. I'm running the LA3 speed density setup created by SVO John, but there is no Marker payload to check for logging. I know you can edit the LA3 file in excel, but I do not know the equation or information to add this feature in. Is it a generic formula and location or is it more complicated than that? I can post my files if needed.
BoStg3BV IronHead|Stinger Header|3in.SS Exhaust|External WG|T3/T4 turbo|Volvo BPV|72lb inj.|AFPR|255FP|DIS Swap|SD Swap|S.C. TB|Lg.NPR|T5|3.73|LA3 QH/BE/EA

User avatar
mike8675309
Regular
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:23 am
Location: Mn

Re: Way to flag or mark rows while datalogging in BE

Post by mike8675309 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:18 pm

MutStang91 wrote:I would love to add this feature to my setup. I'm running the LA3 speed density setup created by SVO John, but there is no Marker payload to check for logging.
There is no payload for the marker. It is built into the logging, you should see a column labeled Marker in your data logs. by default it is 0 and is the last column.

press the Ctrl key once, and it'll stick a 1 in that column from the point you press Ctrl until you press it again.
93 Ford Tbird SC 5speed 3.8l (441hp/462tq) V6 2.0l autorotor 80lb/hr injectors. Valves 1.84I/1.57E CAM: 218 in 224 ex lift is .555/.555 114 lobe sep, Rhoads VMAX lifters, stud mounted adjustable rockers. 9:1CR Forged Wiseco custom pistons, Scat 6.2" (long) H-Beam Rods. 75mm throttle body, 80mm C&L MAF (ford factory electronics) Snow Methanol Injection ; Liquid/Air intercooler; Moates QH 1.6; BE 2010; Innovate LM1 & AuxBox

MutStang91
Gear Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:22 pm

Re: Way to flag or mark rows while datalogging in BE

Post by MutStang91 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:58 am

Thanks, I tried it out and it worked perfectly. I appreciate the clarification.
BoStg3BV IronHead|Stinger Header|3in.SS Exhaust|External WG|T3/T4 turbo|Volvo BPV|72lb inj.|AFPR|255FP|DIS Swap|SD Swap|S.C. TB|Lg.NPR|T5|3.73|LA3 QH/BE/EA

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest