what strategy does my bin use?

Anything about Ford EEC tuning. TwEECer and Moates questions dominate, but there's some SCT and OBD-II knowledge too.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, 2Shaker, Jon 94GT

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:17 am

How do i find out the strategy that a bin is using...

Is there a lable in the bin code?

Im dealing with aussie ecus from the mid 90s and dont have it all worked out for me like u guys in the US...

ive got a def for my bin but it seems to have too many odd values in it...i also dont trust it hasnt been tampered with as i got it from a website...

Details that they tell me it is...
Catch code : 6dgc
bin name : 6dgc.bin
supposed correct def for it is : nvmg84

ive found a post saying it uses nvAg83 also...yes ive emphasized the a to point out its different

how were these named? Did the name nvmg8x come from something writen in the bin?
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 5:14 pm

The open source australian defs arent fully defined. So some parameters show weird values. I am working in fully breaking them but takes time

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:30 pm

Man this process sux...

i do a search to find basic answers to questions like this and theres about 100 pages to sort through...

thanks ranga83 for at least being the only person attempting to help...
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:34 pm

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=19877

^^^found some info in this thread

eg..
crakrz wrote:I thought that the bins actually had that info in them. For example, if I open up my bin with hex editor, at address 27F**, or thereabouts, the strategy and bin numbers are actually listed. I don't know if this is just with our EECV 4 bank bins, or if its a common feature. Someone else, like sailorbob, may know more about it.
^^this is what i was hoping the answer the answer would be something like
sailorbob wrote:The calibration ID (aka CALID) was superseded by the checksum (aka ROM_TO) in the late '80's. The checksum forms a unique reference and there is another parameter (the FIXSUM) that is used to ensure the ROM_TO value is unique.

Once you change a calibration and recalculate the checksum this method of ecu identification no longer works.
^^^i dont understand this...wouldnt something called "calid" be what im looking for....how do i find it in the bin
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:41 pm

Most australian bins have an id in the binary. Search for the ascii text "ford" and you will find it

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:17 am

Ah yeah...cool...

Is it just the 256k bins that have that...because i had a look at some 64k bins (a9L) and there was nothing in that..

Im thinking 256k bins started with eecv yeah?
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:48 am

are you "gogetta" on fordmods by any chance?

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:01 am

Thats the one....i dont post much over there anymore...its a good site but...

jason lnows his shit eh...but he certainly doesnt seem to like noob questions much...

Mind u i dont think people here like em much either....ur the only one whos answered...lol
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:04 am

U using QH?...keen on it but not sure if its gunna do what i think it might...seems awesom if u have an A9L but not sure what features it would loose on an aussie rom...
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:05 am

Jase probably gets bombarded with noob questions or questions that have been answered before all the time. Would get fkn frustrating. Any issues/q's you can pm me through here or fordmods. That way ill get an email notification instead of only seeing when i jump online

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:08 am

The qh give the ability to live tune. Thats why im using one. Hell of alot easier for when i tune customers cars. Then put the final tune onto a t.i chip. What do you think it might do?

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:07 am

Im assuming QH can datalog various parameters in its software...

But i was told i wouldnt be able to see things like LTFT...unless extra patch code was written to access memory below 2000...dont really inderstand that bit but...

what software does QH use? Is it tunerproRT?... im thinking ill need a def made for whatever it is OR can u use non RT versions of tunerpro...do u know who makes them or sells them and how well supported and sorted are they? Or did u make one up based on the defs from ti?

also would be good if the qh could retreive fault codes...

would like to be able to log things like target A/F and ignition advance...

Cheers
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

XantheFIN
Gear Head
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:13 pm
Location: Finland

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by XantheFIN » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:33 am

OzFalcon wrote:Ah yeah...cool...

Is it just the 256k bins that have that...because i had a look at some 64k bins (a9L) and there was nothing in that..

Im thinking 256k bins started with eecv yeah?
It's depends.. Like some European Sierras, Granadas .. and RS2000 Escort had it in file dump. Different strategy.. different things.
OzFalcon wrote:Im assuming QH can datalog various parameters in its software...

But i was told i wouldnt be able to see things like LTFT...unless extra patch code was written to access memory below 2000...dont really inderstand that bit but...

what software does QH use? Is it tunerproRT?... im thinking ill need a def made for whatever it is OR can u use non RT versions of tunerpro...do u know who makes them or sells them and how well supported and sorted are they? Or did u make one up based on the defs from ti?

also would be good if the qh could retreive fault codes...

would like to be able to log things like target A/F and ignition advance...

Cheers
Shortly Moates made QH. There is some people talented to make Def files. Tunerpro RT is only version to support hardware. It has ability to datalog about everything.
European Zetec - GSAZ1 - ENVY

*ForDiag
*Homebrew - J3 Adapter w/ TunerPRO RT
*Innovate LC-2 WB

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:07 pm

Yes you can log with q/h and t/p RT. But you will need an adx file to do so and im not sure if one has been made for the aussie 8's yet. I cant find one for the 4.0

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:56 pm

Ranga i thought u said u used QH...but then u said i werent sure if the adx files had been made of 8s...and then u said i couldnt find one for 6s either...

So what do u use qh on then....or am i missing something...
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:04 pm

Yeah....i havent heard of anyone with a 6 using QH...but i spoke to matt @ BPR in geelong and thats where i got a bit of info, basically its doable on 6 but noone has done it yet (that was a year ago)...

There were a few people on here with 8s from australia that are using QH, hopefully they will chip in some advise..
crakrz, auIILTD, scaffy, Bossxr8...
is there a way to tag people on forums...prob not lol..
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:37 pm

you can use the q/h with the aussie 6 and 8 with t/p and use the availiable defs from t.i. there are no issues with tuning. im using one on my ef. its the data logging side of things that I cant use atm

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:06 pm

Am i missing something...because i cant see it being worth it without that feature...i can see it makes things far faster but without a way to log the results it seems a waste..

What r u using to log sensors?
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:07 am

I use a techedge wideband controller to log. I got the q/h cause its live tuning while the car is running. That way i dont have to stop, turn the car off, change the tune, reinsert the j3 and start again. Once the tune is set with the q/h i just put it on a j3.

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:21 am

Ive got an older techedge as well...its quite good and still going strong many years later...had an lc1 that stopped working...

what do u do about checking ign timing changes...have u found a way to log ign?
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:52 am

Ok quarterhorse question..

i dont get why if u can realtime change a parameter in memory why cant u log the same parameter...

i thought the whole trick is knowing is knowing the memory locations of the things u want to change...but i suppose what u change and what u log arnt necessarily the same thing...

am i making sense/on the right track?
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

jsa
Tuning Addict
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:28 pm
Location: 'straya

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by jsa » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:20 am

OzFalcon wrote:Ok quarterhorse question..

i dont get why if u can realtime change a parameter in memory why cant u log the same parameter...
Those parameters are values in tables etc that remain fixed for the life of that tune setting. They are inputs for the ecu calculations, whereas you want to log ecu calculation outputs.
Cheers

John

95 Escort RS Cosworth - GHAJ0 / ANTI on a COSY box code
Moates QH & BE
ForDiag

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:23 am

as for timing changes, for me its just seat of the pants logging until I get to the dyno and re check everything when im there

OzFalcon
Gear Head
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:50 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by OzFalcon » Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:44 am

Jsa...yeah i pretty much worked that out...for eg LAMBSE...id have no idea of where its as its not in the def, why would it be...

Ranga...have u thought of logging the vss while doing acceleration runs...no need for dyno...
Primary car :mid 90s - 5.0 HO Auto, Stock
ECU : 6DGE strategy NVAG8C
Using TunerPro on T.I. J3 chip, 6DGC bin, NVMG84 strat

from Vic, Australia

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:52 pm

I log the vss. But that still doesnt show power changes while running on the dyno. I dont pay for the dyno so doesnt worry me

Bossxr8
Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:06 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by Bossxr8 » Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:27 pm

I got your PM. Replied over on AFF. I have full datalogging on my NL, including spark advance.
NVMG84 strategy 6GDC bin
97 Australian Fairlane 5.0 HO
Trickflow 11R 190's, custom FTI cam, Trickflow R manifold, 75mm accufab TB, 10.5 comp, Comp gold 1.7 rockers, K&N, pacemaker headers, magnaflow metal cats, dual 2.25 inch exhaust, hooker aerochambers, BPT underdrives, Siemans Deka 60lb injectors, Lightning 90mm MAF, 4 inch power pipe, Mustang Cobra pod airbox.
3.91 gears, LSD
Built BTR 4 speed and 3000 rpm hi stall
Moates Quarterhorse, Innovate LC1 and Binary Editor

mpaton
BIN Hacker
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:39 pm

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by mpaton » Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:33 am

OzFalcon wrote:Jsa...yeah i pretty much worked that out...for eg LAMBSE...id have no idea of where its as its not in the def, why would it be...
If your ECU supports a scanner that can read live values, which is most of them since about 1994, then LAMBSE certainly should be in your def. And that's because a single scanner can read LAMBSE and other variables out of many ECUs, so the ECU has the table of addresses of all there standard parameters, not only for OBD2, but some OBD1 also. You def writer just needs to know how to find it.....

briney
Gear Head
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 11:42 pm

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by briney » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:21 am

so a bit of a thread dig. i've got a 6cyl ed falcon with an el 6dbb computer fitted. i'm using a quarterhorse with tunerpro. i'm using the 6dbd bin and hwad3 definition.

i've got it to work, the car runs and i can make changes. i'd really like to be able to map trace and/or log. from what i can gather this requires an adx file. does anyone know where i can get hold of one for the 4 litre?

actually, fuck it. i'd settle for a functioning hwad xdf.

ranga83
Gear Head
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 am

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by ranga83 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:42 am

briney wrote:
Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:21 am
so a bit of a thread dig. i've got a 6cyl ed falcon with an el 6dbb computer fitted. i'm using a quarterhorse with tunerpro. i'm using the 6dbd bin and hwad3 definition.

i've got it to work, the car runs and i can make changes. i'd really like to be able to map trace and/or log. from what i can gather this requires an adx file. does anyone know where i can get hold of one for the 4 litre?

actually, fuck it. i'd settle for a functioning hwad xdf.
No 4.0 logging atm that im aware of. Im working on it tho. Slowly.
Whats wrong with your hwad def? I have a few versions that i need to sort out into the 1 def but it has most things thats needed.

jsa
Tuning Addict
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:28 pm
Location: 'straya

Re: what strategy does my bin use?

Post by jsa » Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:11 pm

ranga83 wrote:
Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:42 am

No 4.0 logging atm that im aware of. Im working on it tho. Slowly.
A search of the listing for a3,01,00,0d, finds the check for the Engineering Console present.

Though the surrounding code in 4TAD looks very different to all other bins I've tried this on.

Code: Select all

ac0b: a3,01,00,0d,24                    ldw   R24,[d00]      R24 = [d00];
Cheers

John

95 Escort RS Cosworth - GHAJ0 / ANTI on a COSY box code
Moates QH & BE
ForDiag

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests