MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Anything about Ford EEC tuning. TwEECer and Moates questions dominate, but there's some SCT and OBD-II knowledge too.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, 2Shaker, Jon 94GT

Post Reply
Lman
Gear Head
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:35 pm
Location: SE Penna.

MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by Lman » Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:06 am

It's been quite a while since I've used BE/EA so I am rusty. Working with a A9P in a 90 Must and I can not get
the mapping feature in BE to work .I keep getting a error message about no MAFV. MAFV is not listed in the payload
to add but it is in the log that's in EA .Do I need to change some setting somewhere ?
2000 Lightning , Stock 5.4, 4# pulley, 4.10 gears, ported blower, SCT2600 Maf, 12lbs boost,SCT x4 .Pulls hard..

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:42 am

Select vmaf in your payload.
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

Lman
Gear Head
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:35 pm
Location: SE Penna.

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by Lman » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Thanks for reply,
I definitely have that checked in the payload, but there is no afr or mafv to select .
maf.PNG
maf.PNG (24.17 KiB) Viewed 557 times
2000 Lightning , Stock 5.4, 4# pulley, 4.10 gears, ported blower, SCT2600 Maf, 12lbs boost,SCT x4 .Pulls hard..

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:33 pm

Maf is a selectable pid. There will be no mafv to select, it has been changed to vmaf in the definition years ago. To log afr you either need software like what is offered by Innovate if that is the gauge you use or if you are not using your egr you can change the egr pid to afr in the datalog section and set up the transfer function to log it.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=14947

maf.jpg
maf.jpg (149.6 KiB) Viewed 550 times
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

Lman
Gear Head
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:35 pm
Location: SE Penna.

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by Lman » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:19 pm

I am running afr of my old LM1 innovate and it shows up in the logs and on the dash and chart section fine .
I ques I have to run it though the egr pid to make it work ?? Ill read the link you sent .Thanks
2000 Lightning , Stock 5.4, 4# pulley, 4.10 gears, ported blower, SCT2600 Maf, 12lbs boost,SCT x4 .Pulls hard..

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:37 pm

Yes...egr is pin 27 on the ecm 60 pin harness. The link should have all the info you need....if not...let me know and I will update it. Egr pid can be renamed as afr and the transfer function needs to be defined as the same and input correctly. You can just set it as 0v=7.35 and 5v=22.39. if you are viewing afr.
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

User avatar
cgrey8
Administrator
Posts: 10702
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Acworth, Ga (Metro Atlanta)
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by cgrey8 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:10 am

Lman wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:19 pm
I am running afr of my old LM1 innovate and it shows up in the logs and on the dash and chart section fine .
I ques I have to run it though the egr pid to make it work ?? Ill read the link you sent .Thanks
It's Innovate, so using BinaryEditor, you can datalog it directly (assuming you purchased that ability with your license), and it sounds like you already have that setup. If you see it in your logs and you see it on the dash, then there's nothing else to do...no need to also wire it to the EGR. You already have the values everywhere you need them.

Seeing AFR in the payload list is only important for people that DON'T datalog it directly have rely on the EGR position input to get the values into their logs.
...Always Somethin'

89 Ranger Supercab, 331 w/GT40p heads, ported Explorer lower, Crane Powermax 2020 cam, 1.6RRs, FMS Explorer (GT40p) headers, Slot Style MAF, aftermarket T5 'Z-Spec', 8.8" rear w/3.27s, Powertrax Locker, Innovate LC-1, GUFB, Moates QuarterHorse tuned using BE&EA

Member V8-Ranger.com

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:52 am

cgrey8 wrote:
Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:10 am
Lman wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:19 pm
I am running afr of my old LM1 innovate and it shows up in the logs and on the dash and chart section fine .
I ques I have to run it though the egr pid to make it work ?? Ill read the link you sent .Thanks
It's Innovate, so using BinaryEditor, you can datalog it directly (assuming you purchased that ability with your license), and it sounds like you already have that setup. If you see it in your logs and you see it on the dash, then there's nothing else to do...no need to also wire it to the EGR. You already have the values everywhere you need them.

Seeing AFR in the payload list is only important for people that DON'T datalog it directly have rely on the EGR position input to get the values into their logs.
Thanks for sharing this, after reading your reply I realized I didn't think of this option and assumed it wasn't being utilized. With that being cleared up then selecting vmaf should clear up the rest. I did notice looking at a log of my own that in EA that MAFV is still listed and maybe needs to match VMAF which is in BE? I know I brought this up to Clint years ago when the maf auto tune was available in BE and when the strategy was switched to vmaf it broke its functionality. I could be wrong but that is my observation and experience. I believe it should match in both programs for proper functionality. Currently it is vmaf in BE and the gufb strategy but mafv in EA.
mafv.png
mafv.png (412.66 KiB) Viewed 514 times
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

Lman
Gear Head
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:35 pm
Location: SE Penna.

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by Lman » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:05 am

I think you nailed it EDS50 . How do I adjust this ? Last time I fooled with the log titles EA blew up !

The is a box in the settings section of EA for maf to mafv or mafv to maf etc .


AS a greenhorn my knowledge is quite limited.
2000 Lightning , Stock 5.4, 4# pulley, 4.10 gears, ported blower, SCT2600 Maf, 12lbs boost,SCT x4 .Pulls hard..

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:49 am

Lman wrote:
Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:05 am
I think you nailed it EDS50 . How do I adjust this ? Last time I fooled with the log titles EA blew up !

The is a box in the settings section of EA for maf to mafv or mafv to maf etc .


AS a greenhorn my knowledge is quite limited.
I will wait for CGREY8 to chime in on this one since he maintains the GUFB strategy. It may be out of his hands and needs to be addressed by Clint. From what I remember; this change occurred some time around the transition from BE2010 to BE2012. I know for a fact that it was mafv when the maf autotune was available and functional in BE it was mafv and when the change was made to vmaf that's when the maf autotune was broken. Not sure if that is relatable to your problem but I do feel it needs to be addressed one way or the other.
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

User avatar
cgrey8
Administrator
Posts: 10702
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Acworth, Ga (Metro Atlanta)
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by cgrey8 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:04 am

I actually don't have any memory of this. I remember the same as you that there is a vmaf and mafv. But the detailed differences between the two aren't coming forward as anything useful to share.

My gut feeling is BE is either "translating" vmaf to mafv into the logs for backward compatibility with EA or EA was updated to look for one, and if it isn't there, look for the other. But again, I just can't remember the details nor why it changed. I think Clint is best to speak up on this. Maybe he has a better memory on vmaf vs mafv. I also wouldn't be surprised if the GUFB doc affected this in some way.
...Always Somethin'

89 Ranger Supercab, 331 w/GT40p heads, ported Explorer lower, Crane Powermax 2020 cam, 1.6RRs, FMS Explorer (GT40p) headers, Slot Style MAF, aftermarket T5 'Z-Spec', 8.8" rear w/3.27s, Powertrax Locker, Innovate LC-1, GUFB, Moates QuarterHorse tuned using BE&EA

Member V8-Ranger.com

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:33 am

Chris - This was a topic of discussion way back around 2011/2012 when BE transitioned from BE2010 to BE2012.

Just thinking out loud so I can document my thoughts. I am wondering if there is a fix to apply that it would be as easy as opening the gufb strategy in excel and changing the function fn036 xpayload from vmaf to mafv and changing the payload name from vmaf to mafv?
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

User avatar
cgrey8
Administrator
Posts: 10702
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Acworth, Ga (Metro Atlanta)
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by cgrey8 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:19 pm

Another option is to set EA to calculate MAFv from MAF. As long as the MAF curve that's in EA is the same as what your tune has, then it should calculate MAFv correctly...or at the very least, close enough.
...Always Somethin'

89 Ranger Supercab, 331 w/GT40p heads, ported Explorer lower, Crane Powermax 2020 cam, 1.6RRs, FMS Explorer (GT40p) headers, Slot Style MAF, aftermarket T5 'Z-Spec', 8.8" rear w/3.27s, Powertrax Locker, Innovate LC-1, GUFB, Moates QuarterHorse tuned using BE&EA

Member V8-Ranger.com

Lman
Gear Head
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:35 pm
Location: SE Penna.

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by Lman » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:17 pm

Thanks for the help guys. I was rambling around and found a drop down on the mapping tool and dam if the vmaf
box was not checked. Turns out you have to set it ever time you open it. Such a simple thing .

I think it is a good tool. For a greenhorn like me anyway.
maf vs afr.PNG
maf vs afr.PNG (30.32 KiB) Viewed 476 times
maf.PNG
maf.PNG (30.97 KiB) Viewed 476 times
2000 Lightning , Stock 5.4, 4# pulley, 4.10 gears, ported blower, SCT2600 Maf, 12lbs boost,SCT x4 .Pulls hard..

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: MAF,AFR mapping in BE

Post by EDS50 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:45 pm

Interesting and easy enough of a fix. Glad you got it sorted out and I appologize for overthinking the issue.
1992 LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 332, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9L, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests