Anything about Ford EEC tuning. TwEECer and Moates questions dominate, but there's some SCT and OBD-II knowledge too.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, Jon 94GT, 2Shaker

acgarib
Gear Head

What's Considered Too Much MAF Adjustment?

Post by acgarib » Thu Jul 21, 2022 1:34 pm

Hi all,

First off I'll introduce myself - I'm Andrew and I'm new to automotive tuning but have 10 years experience as a process control engineer in oil refining so I'm used to the concepts, but my gasoline lines at work flow 2,000,000 lb/hr instead of 80 haha.

I recently installed a vortech SI supercharger with powerpipe on my 1991 HCI 302 mustang and have been tuning my A9P ECU via a quarterhorse.

I have a draw-through 90mm Lightning MAF in the fenderwell with window screen sandwiched between the cone air filter and MAF and 80 lb Ford racing injectors. Both of these have well defined data sheets that I used as a starting point, with fueling tweaks being performed via the MAF curve only. My issue is that my whole MAF curve is lean by about 10% except for the low end which is 40% lean in the 1 to 1.5 volt range, where I idle and coast around. Is this typical to have to apply a 1.4x correction factor to a LMAF curve when both the MAF and injectors have data sheets that are generally regarded as accurate? I can understand that the 10% part could be my particular intake tract setup vs what was used on whatever flow bench Ford used for the curve, but 40% off at low flow rates seems excessive. The car drives OK except for two tune related problems and one likely non tune related problem

- a slight idle surge when in gear. The surge is confusing me since it continues even if I lock out timing and the ISC. Putting on my controls engineer hat makes it look like CL control has too much integral action and controller gain due to the oscillations in rpm also corresponding with switches on the HEGOs but I don't see any mention of integral action in the GUFB document. Any insight?