Code patterns for fuel and spark tables lookup ?

This is where the BIN Hackers and definition junkies discuss the inner workings of the EEC code and hardware. General tuning questions do not go here. Only technical/hardware-specific/code questions and discussions belong here.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, 2Shaker, Jon 94GT

S12Cat
Gear Head

Code patterns for fuel and spark tables lookup ?

Post by S12Cat » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:39 am

Good day.
I'm new in EEC tuning. Making bin dumper now. I want to build def files for some european Fords, 4 and 6 cyl's.
So I thought that EEC IV have some code patterns for fuel table lookup and the same for spark.
Want to ask experienced EEC hackers - have you noticed such things or EEC IV have it's own code sequence in each strategy and ECU for seeking in this tables?

Also want to know, how to find MAF transfer function quickly.

Thanks.

S12Cat
Gear Head

Re: Code patterns for fuel and spark tables lookup ?

Post by S12Cat » Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:58 am

Nobody knows?

andyt12
Gear Head

Post by andyt12 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:33 am

People know but its not that easy or simple to explain.

There is no common pattern to find your tables, each strategy is different.

One way is try to find similar done definitions and bins and search that way, if you can find something very close then this will be the quickest way.

You can also find a good commented disassembly to use for comparison of your own. You will find the functions to lookup MAF and such are very similar on all eec's.

If your doing disassembly then you want to first find the Table and Function routines. They are the same or very similar in all eec's.
Once you found the lookups then find the Calibration pointers @ 0x82062, there should be 8 of them 16bit in size and are loaded into REG_F0 to REG_FE. Once you got them then look though the code for calls to table lookups, the instruction 1 or 2 before it should be AD3W, would look like so

AD3W REG_3A,REG_F0,#$0198