Anything about Ford EEC tuning. TwEECer and Moates questions dominate, but there's some SCT and OBD-II knowledge too.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, Jon 94GT, 2Shaker

Post Reply
GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:35 pm

does this sound like it could be a corrupt tune? I have attached the log, you can see where it goes dead rich for no reason.
this occurred while it was idling and the engine just cut out then came back to life.

in a seperate datalog, i saw my wideband go to 8.1 at idle all by itself
Attachments
2011_Jun_12_13-59-12.csv
(577.75 KiB) Downloaded 515 times
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

NotchAbove
Regular
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:33 pm

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by NotchAbove » Mon Jun 13, 2011 9:28 am

What I can tell you and it might not be of any real help but what is happening for a reason I can't see, but the Load is spiking, hitting almost 100. When this happens the lambse table changes and commands a real rich mixture. Since the car is not really under load, its going to stall.

Question of the day would be why does the load spike like that.
1993 Reef Blue Coupe
Thumper Ported E7's
Cobra Intake & 65mm TB
Crane 2031 w/1.7's
30lb Injectors (Slim Line - BB302)
LMAF (02 Lightening Curve) Leaned out 5%
190 lph fuel pump
Kirban Fuel Regulator
A3M computer
EGR only, no Smog
10 degrees base timing
39 PSI fuel pressure no vacuum/32PSI with vacuum (at idle)
BBK 1 5/8 shorty headers
T5 Tranny 3:55 rear
Innovate MTX-L Wideband & QH/BE

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:38 am

I downloaded a new binary from the EA website, and put in my settings from the old tune.
I let it idle and it appeared the problem was gone. So I'm hoping it was just a corrupt tune.

Thanks for looking at the log NotchAbove.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:29 pm

i went to drive it today, let it idle, same issue :headbang:
before starting it I made some small adjustments to the tune, that was it

anybody have any ideas? It doesnt seem to do it in the stock tune position
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:55 am

Please someone help!!!

Im getting very bizarre and inconsistent problems. The car goes rich for no reason, sometimes it stalls out(i was driving on the highway and it just shut off), once time it would cut out whenever i hit the gas enough to invoke CL. I didnt have this problem last year.

I have tried another computer, another tweecer, cleaned the j3, cleaned my 10 pins, and added a ground from the chassis to where the battery cable goes to the block. I have tried fresh binaries and a million different tunes. I also tried another TFI I had laying around, and pulled codes and found nothing.

I had a problem with BE auto updating when i first launched it this spring, I can read and write to the tweecer ok, I am wondering though if it is corrupting the tune somehow? Or if it is electrical?

I've tried to troubleshoot this logically but am starting to lose my mind. I have attached another different datalog, you can see where it goes crazy around 507.2818.

Any insight would be very appreciated.
Attachments
2011_Jun_28_17-07-12.csv
(1.55 MiB) Downloaded 476 times
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

OrangeCrush86
Regular
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:48 pm
Contact:

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by OrangeCrush86 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:34 am

That is weird. It kind of looks like the ECM is loosing power.

Isn't there some wiring and a fuse near the battery that supplies power to the ECM? I would double check all wiring.
1986 Mustang GT - A9L w/ Quarter Horse and LC-1 Wide Band, Scat 331 Bored . 040, Edelbrock Performer heads (10.2/1 CR), Edelbrock Performer Intake, BBK 70mm TB, Comp Cams XE270HR-14 cam, Crane Gold Race 1.6 Rockers, Ford Racing 42lb injectors, C&L 80mm (green tube) MAF, Astro Performance T-5.

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:27 pm

the odd thing is that it doesnt do it on a stock tune. That is how I was able to get an inspection sticker for the car. I drove it there on the stock tune.

:headbang:
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3849
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by EDS50 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:45 pm

Sounds like its time to download crossloop and let someone dial in to help you out.
1992 Mustang LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 333 on Meth, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9P Tune, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

2003 Mach 1 - Core Tuning RYAK1/ZYA2 QH Tuned, Borla Atak Cat Back, Pypes X-Pipe, Twin 65mm TB, K&N CAI, ICT Billet Intake Spacer, Eibach Pro Series Plus Suspension, Steeda Adj. Upper/Lower Control Arms, QA1 Bump Steer, Steeda Short Throw Shifter, 315/35/17's.

User avatar
EDS50
Administrator
Posts: 3849
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Contact:

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by EDS50 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:51 pm

Could also be a bad fuel pump or eec relay. But maybe not likely since you say she runs fine with the stock tune.
1992 Mustang LX - 25.1c Chassis, Vortech Blown Dart 333 on Meth, Lentech Trans, TRZ Backhalf, A9P Tune, Moates QH/SL v1.9, BE, EA, TunerView

2003 Mach 1 - Core Tuning RYAK1/ZYA2 QH Tuned, Borla Atak Cat Back, Pypes X-Pipe, Twin 65mm TB, K&N CAI, ICT Billet Intake Spacer, Eibach Pro Series Plus Suspension, Steeda Adj. Upper/Lower Control Arms, QA1 Bump Steer, Steeda Short Throw Shifter, 315/35/17's.

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:44 pm

Yeah, i added that to my word document of things to check out. But it just doesnt seem to make sense.

I have searched on many posts trying to find what the issues were to odd problems.

I imaged my laptop back to last summer when I didnt have this problem so I am going to try that next.

Does adding the tweecer to the computer impact any other part of the wiring/electrical that might not show up when the computer is running by itself?
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

roh92cp
Tuning Addict
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by roh92cp » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:17 pm

Does your MAF volts start with 0 at the bottom and 15.9998 at the top, if not it could cause issues like that. I had some strange problems due to those numbers.
BE/EA Moates QH, A9L GUFB. 92 DART363 custom cam, KB Customs inlet 2.8L H series, custom A2A intercooler 20psi, Trick Flow R lower TW 205cc heads, 60 lb injectors, HPX slot style MAF blow through, custom 5" intake, 105mm T/B, 340lph intank and KB BAP, Crane HI-6R. Zeitronix wideband. J&S Safegaurd system.
"The sound is unnatural and not of this world, like a screeching velociraptor with the flames of hell licking it's ass"

frepea
Gear Head
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:54 pm
Location: edmonton ab

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by frepea » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:27 pm

Subscribing... I have had this,or similar issue as well,and is still an ongoing from time to time. The car will run fine for the most part,usually after,say... a short blast,it will run like crap...like it is trying to relearn itself (adaptives disabled),you can continue to drive,but it will die on declutch.Now if you turn off ign and restart all is well, most of the time I just rewrite the tune,this appears to work for awhile.
I havent figured this out yet, but am all ears...(eyes) I also use a Tweecer, I have attached a log I caught while it was doing this,
Attachments
2011_May_22_12-30-00.csv
(88.11 KiB) Downloaded 436 times
82 Volvo 245,306 , Afr 205's,custom cam,Perf rpm2,90mm sct BA-2600,30lb injectors75mmTB,A9l/tweecerRt,BE/EA, 5spd

User avatar
EFI-Unlimited
Professional Tuner/Shop Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by EFI-Unlimited » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:37 pm

Post or email your bin. I have an idea what it may be.

Brian
EFI-Unlimited
Efiunlimited@gmail.com

frepea
Gear Head
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:54 pm
Location: edmonton ab

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by frepea » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:45 pm

Here's mine anyway...
Attachments
volvo2hiloslo1.75dload.BIN
(56 KiB) Downloaded 457 times
82 Volvo 245,306 , Afr 205's,custom cam,Perf rpm2,90mm sct BA-2600,30lb injectors75mmTB,A9l/tweecerRt,BE/EA, 5spd

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Thu Jun 30, 2011 7:27 am

My maf does start at 0 and end at 15.9998.

Brian, I am at work right now, I'll email that or post it up tonight. I have redone the tune so many times and it never seems to make a difference - with fresh binaries. But I will gladly accept your offer to look at it.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:59 pm

well that didnt do it, so i dont think it is the software.
I have posted some bins, it doesnt matter what I do screwy things happen.
Attachments
postimage.BIN
(56 KiB) Downloaded 429 times
post10pin.BIN
(56 KiB) Downloaded 354 times
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

User avatar
EFI-Unlimited
Professional Tuner/Shop Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by EFI-Unlimited » Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:29 pm

Neither binary resolves as anything common, and they both appear to be different base images. Where did you get the base image for this? Was it a read, a download or what?

At the moment, it looks like it may be a corrupt image. Other than that, in postimage.bin the battery comp table has 15 as the top value in the left column. It needs to be 15.9375. That could cause the issues you are describing.

Brian
EFI-Unlimited

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:13 am

Thanks for taking the time to look Brian.

When the problems started, I tried fresh binaries from Clint's website, and also tried reading from the hardware.

Do you think it could be an electrical/sensor issue that doesnt manifest itself unless there is a tune on it?

It doesnt have the crazy issues on the stock tune, but it also doesnt run that great.

I am contemplating putting a stock maf on it just to see what happens. At this point I may just have to try different things.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

mpaton
BIN Hacker
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:39 pm

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by mpaton » Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:52 am

I don't know why it's happening, but I suspect that the ECU is re-initializing itself (and one of a few reasons for that is power interruption).

I suspect that because your log just happens to capture ECT and ACT at 60, which is what they are initialized to.
GrnTrunk wrote:I've tried to troubleshoot this logically but am starting to lose my mind. I have attached another different datalog, you can see where it goes crazy around 507.2818.

Any insight would be very appreciated.

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:08 pm

I tried a lincoln 80mm maf I had, that didnt change anything though. I may have to take a break before I get committed.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

decipha

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by decipha » Sat Jul 02, 2011 8:56 pm

i've never experienced anything like this before, too bad your not closer to new orleans (or wyoming for that matter)

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:33 am

I ran the ftdi uninstall and tweecer driver reinstall per the instructions in BE. It seemed to help but not totally cure the problem.
So, I am not sure if it really helped at all. Best I can figure perhaps the extra power draw from adding the tweecer is doing this.

I may try another relay at some point.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

decipha

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by decipha » Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:44 pm

fp and eec relays are automatically replaced whenever a car comes to me with ANY intermittent issues what so ever

i don't care if its the friggin' windshield wipers acting up

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:30 am

I replaced the eec relay yesterday and drove it an hour without it seeming to do it. I datalogged it to verify but for some reason the logs were not on the computer so I couldnt verify in EA. I am hopeful that has fixed the issue.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

GrnTrunk
Gear Head
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:10 am
Location: NH

Re: car goes dead rich and cuts out for a second

Post by GrnTrunk » Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:22 am

i think the relay fixed it. i have put 300 miles on the car since then and it hasn't done it.
so weird that the problem didnt exist until the tweecer was added. i can only assume it was the extra power draw.
92 coupe
302, afr's, tfs 1 cam, gt40 intake, S trim, 42lb injectors,longtubes,pmas velocity, tweecer, lc1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests