BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Errors, Crashes, and Bugs, Oh My! This is where issues specific to tuning software goes. General questions about software features & capabilities are also welcome here.

Moderators: cgrey8, EDS50, Jon 94GT, 2Shaker

Post Reply
91TurboFox
Gear Head
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:38 am

BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by 91TurboFox » Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:40 pm

Hello All,

Is anyone successfully using Binary Editor with a Tweecer and DataQ on Windows 10? What are your driver version numbers?

I have up to this point used Calcon/Caledit on Windows 10 for my Tweecer and a DI-148U Dataq. Now using this same hardware but with BE, the Tweecer is recognized as connected, but not the DI-148U.

The BE Help File says that if using multiple USB devices, the same driver version must be used for both devices. My currrent drivers are 2.12.0.1 (Tweecer) and 2.12.28.0 (DI-148U). There isn't a more up-to-date driver available directly from Tweecer. There is a generic FTDI driver available with the 2.12.28.0 version that I could try to install for the tweecer (http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm), but I'm not sure that's the correct approach. Both pieces of hardware show up fine in my device manager. The DI-148U works fine using Windaq.

There are some past posts about people trying to get BE to recognize their dataq, but it looks like this situation is different:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=21584&p=129307&hil ... aq#p129307 (Here, in the end, the DATAQ looked to be too old of a version. The EEC Analyzer Site says it works for the DI-148U)

User avatar
skunk
Tuning Addict
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Newmarket, ON

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by skunk » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:24 am

I will have to look later but I've not had an issue. Key thing to look at in BE is the USB device tab. You have to make sure the check box for DataQ is selected.

John
1987 Turbocoupe.
A3M1/A9L, BE/EA, Tweecer RT.
306,Single Turbo, Ported E7's, Ported Stock Intake, 42lb Matched Green Tops, PMAS 3" Blow-Thru Protube (42# supercharger calibrated),T5z, 3.73 gears
..... Nothin Fancy.......Just something to keep me from the honey-do list.........

91TurboFox
Gear Head
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:38 am

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by 91TurboFox » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:30 am

Thanks John,

The check box for my DataQ box is selected. It will even 'check itself' automatically when I plug in the DataQ, but the green light indicating a connection won't turn on.

Adam

User avatar
skunk
Tuning Addict
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Newmarket, ON

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by skunk » Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:53 am

Have you tried the drivers in the BE folder for both Tweecer and DataQ?

John
1987 Turbocoupe.
A3M1/A9L, BE/EA, Tweecer RT.
306,Single Turbo, Ported E7's, Ported Stock Intake, 42lb Matched Green Tops, PMAS 3" Blow-Thru Protube (42# supercharger calibrated),T5z, 3.73 gears
..... Nothin Fancy.......Just something to keep me from the honey-do list.........

91TurboFox
Gear Head
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:38 am

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by 91TurboFox » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:58 pm

Hi John,

I hadn't noticed the dataq drivers in the BE folder. The help document says to download them from Dataq's website, which is what I had been using, so I hadn't thought to look there. I think the tweecer driver I've been using is the most current one directly from the Tweecer website, and not the one from the BE folder. I had tried to use the one from the BE folder, but I've been fighting with windows because it thinks the best driver is already installed.

I'll try to completely delete the drivers (both for Dataq and Tweecer), and reinstall using the ones in the BE folder. I know that I've fought with Windows in the past in trying to uninstall drivers. I would uninstall it, then plug in the Tweecer to install the new driver, and it would still recognize it (before I tried to add the new driver).

I'll keep working at it; I'm sure I could find where the current drivers are actually stored and delete them from my system if need be.

Thanks again for your help.

jsa
Tuning Addict
Posts: 419
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:28 pm
Location: 'straya

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by jsa » Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:25 pm

Recently microslop pushed out a win 10 update that broke usb. May be applicable to your problem. From memory there is a patch to fix the patch.
Cheers

John

95 Escort RS Cosworth - GHAJ0 / ANTI on a COSY box code
Moates QH & BE
ForDiag

User avatar
skunk
Tuning Addict
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Newmarket, ON

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by skunk » Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:51 pm

Awe man JSA.....I guess I need to fire up my laptop and go plug in. We're still in the cold up here.....woke up to a dusting of snow this morning...so I haven't gone near my car. Weather is finally supposed to warm up next week and I was looking forward to getting out.

Going to try this in a bit.....Adam, I will report my finding.

John
1987 Turbocoupe.
A3M1/A9L, BE/EA, Tweecer RT.
306,Single Turbo, Ported E7's, Ported Stock Intake, 42lb Matched Green Tops, PMAS 3" Blow-Thru Protube (42# supercharger calibrated),T5z, 3.73 gears
..... Nothin Fancy.......Just something to keep me from the honey-do list.........

User avatar
skunk
Tuning Addict
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Newmarket, ON

Re: BE: DataQ + Tweecer Drivers on Windows 10

Post by skunk » Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:26 pm

Ok Mines working. I updated the Tweecer driver to the same you have listed and updated my DI-145 as well. Still works. I had a look at the BE Driver File and there is a listing for the 148U. I would try that one to see if it works, then update and test again. You may need to run the FTDI cleaner utility to start fresh. If it still doesn't work.....guess you need to send Clint an Email.

As for the latest Win10 update.....so far the only thing messed up so far is my old 2007 Office, Seems to want to go through an install procedure every time I open Excel (stdole32.tlb). Working on it now.

Good Luck
John
1987 Turbocoupe.
A3M1/A9L, BE/EA, Tweecer RT.
306,Single Turbo, Ported E7's, Ported Stock Intake, 42lb Matched Green Tops, PMAS 3" Blow-Thru Protube (42# supercharger calibrated),T5z, 3.73 gears
..... Nothin Fancy.......Just something to keep me from the honey-do list.........

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests